top of page
Search
  • lawjad

April Updates

We are both studying hard as finals are approaching. You would think it would be getting warm out, but we just got snow in mid-April.


The Gardens when it snowed:





Jade:

I am excited to be on co-op at Dr. Neel Joshi’s lab this summer! I will update you all on this work sometime during the summer. For my current lab, I just had to present at RISE, which is a conference for interdisciplinary research and creative projects at Northeastern. Here is my intro slide:




My last day of volunteering is next week. I will be coming back sometime in June. Here is the view from Yawkey when it was snowing last Friday:



Outside of school, I have really been enjoying the outdoors and spring weather (when it isn’t snowing). My roommates and I spent the day outside when it was 75 degrees out. The esplanade by the Charles River is really pretty right now, with lots of blooming trees and flowers.




John:

Besides the snowy day, the weather has been in the 50s, so I've been starting to go on runs

in the city. I’ve also been enjoying the last of my wonderful view from my dorm (Davenport A) because next year I’m living off campus. I also ventured down to one of the many marina’s in Boston and enjoyed the great view of boats.





As far as the lab goes, I had to perform DNA expansions. We use DNA plasmids to transfect our cells with the proteins and receptors we need for our BRET experiments, and after time, our supplies become low. Therefore, we need to perform DNA expansions to increase our supply. How this is done is actually pretty interesting: we put the DNA in bacteria and let them grow and amplify the DNA. Then we extract this DNA into a concentrated pellet, and we’re all set.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page